The district welcomes requests for non-resident students to transfer into the district as allowed by the Arkansas Public School Choice law and the applicable rules and guidelines of the Arkansas Department of Education.

By May 1, 2021, the parent or guardian of interested students must submit an application to the Magazine School District's administration office at 485 E. Priddy St.

For more information, please call the district administration office at 866-900-2001.

School Choice Application

School Choice Rules

School Choice Flyer


This is a public announcement. Public School Choice in Arkansas allows students to attend a public school in a district other than the one in which they reside. Applications for students in the following counties: Clark, Grant, Hot Spring, Pike, and Saline, (must be made by May 1, 2021, to qualify for provisions under Arkansas Public School Choice Act of 2013.)

Pursuant to standards adopted by a non-resident school board, a non-resident district may reserve the right to accept and reject applicants based on the capacity of programs, class, grade level, or school building. Likewise, a non-resident district’s standards may provide for the rejection of an applicant based upon the submission of false or misleading information to the above-listed request for information when that information directly impacts the legal qualifications of an applicant to transfer pursuant to the School Choice Act. However, a non-resident district’s standards shall not include an applicant’s previous academic achievement, athletic or other extra-curricular ability, handicapping conditions, English proficiency level, or previous disciplinary proceedings, except that an expulsion from another district may be included pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. 6-18-510.

Priority will be given to applicants with siblings attending the district. The non-resident district shall accept credits toward graduation that were awarded by another district and award a diploma to a non-resident applicant if the applicant meets the non-resident district’s graduation requirements. Applications must be postmarked or delivered to the Superintendent of Schools no later than May 1 for a child to be able to enroll for the fall semester. Transfers shall be granted on a non-discriminatory basis. Students who have been accepted and enrolled in previous years do not have to reapply as approved transfers remain valid for as long as the student attends that public school.

The Public School Choice program was established to give parents and students more options with respect to where students attend public school and to enable any student to attend a school in a district in which the student does not reside, subject to the restrictions contained in ARKANSAS PUBLIC SCHOOL CHOICE ACT of 2015.

Act 1227 of 2013, which established the Public School Choice Act of 2013, went into effect on April 16, 2013. The Act was amended in Act 560 of 2015 and includes the following deadlines:

January 1 Students/parents may begin the application process to apply for school choice to a nonresident district.

May 1 Students/parents apply for school choice to a nonresident district, which will notify the resident district of the filing of the application.

July 1 The superintendent of the nonresident district notifies the parent and resident district of the acceptance or denial of a school choice application.

December 15 The ADE reports to each school district the net maximum number of school choice transfers for the next school year.